A little about Jagga Jasoos Film

After long I sat for 3 hours watching a cinematic experience. I had developed a phobia a few years ago to be inside a dark theatre watching senseless direction and stories that would take away precious hours of my life. So I avoided watching movies.

These days you can look at the poster, first trailer and know for sure that it would be worthless to watch a film, waste money and time, eat compulsorily from the over priced pop corn counter in the multiplex. Cannot think of the last movie that surprised me. It was probably Drishyam and delightfully it played on my television screen post 4 months of release. Good cinema is such a rarity, it has become the art in a museum that as a layman once in a while is able to appreciate and understand.

Jagga Jasoos : I tried to look beyond Ranbir Kapoor and Katrina Kaif as entities and really got pulled in with the cinematography. The story also seemed to appeal the Agatha-Christie-setups in my head. I prayed for the story to be simple in its narration because if it was to be as the Christie novels it might fly right over our Indian audiences. The movie is a musical. It has 28 songs that communicate the film and the narrative throughout. This is the first for a Bollywood movie. Musicals have remained mostly confined to drama and live performances.

Anurag Basu has beauty in his stories. And the highest raking films in India are family films no doubt. This film is a wonderland for children, young, adults altogether. Capturing the essence of the North East India and giving us the breath taking visuals across Morroco was such a break from the monotone of locations.

jagga-jasoos-ranbir-kapoors-last-film-anurag-basu-exclusive-0003

Ranbir Kapoor

The boy takes effort. He has a good screen presence and works well with comedy as well as a ‘happy face’. Touted as the next superstar from his first film, Ranbir comes with a legacy in Indian cinema. His depressing roles and movies in between really sucked the energy out of his fandom but he is young, plays around and slaps his butt now and again to retain our attention. He is someone who will simmer for a long time.

Great work in Jagga as Jagga. He stands true to the story and its need. But I personally am fed up with his roles stereotyping him with a sad story.

Katrina has been directed well. She does a good job of being accidental. I am happy she got a chance to act pretty good part in the movie. Her being a plain jane makes her so approachable something which she needed now.

We need an uncomplicated movie once in a while which just drags us into the story and safely drops us home like a smooth car with great suspension.

Watch it and delight.

 

Author: unlabelit

I am not a girl that can be stereotyped based on my nationality, gender, my opinions, my attitude. I am not interested in picking out what is different about you from me. I am interested in our similarities. And words will always connect. I am a world citizen. I love this big beautiful world and it needs compassion as well as a healthy dose of humour, love and also some sarcasm.

Leave a Reply

